Music · What I'm Listening To

Top 5 Songs: July 2017

If you missed my other posts you can find them here: March|April|May|June

July has been a pretty crazy month for me, and in terms of music, I feel like I’ve been listening to everything, which is making the whole “pick my favourites” thing a big challenge! But I won’t ramble on too much about my month when you want to see what my top picks for this month were. Let’s get into it!

1. Okay – As It Is

I’m in love with this song at the moment – particularly the acoustic version – and I can’t describe how it makes me feel. I can listen to this song if I’m happy or sad. It’s upbeat and can lift me up when I’m down, or I can happily just sing along and have a dance. It’s a very strange song in that sense, but I’m strange as well so it’s fitting.

 

2. Boomerang – The Summer Set

I’ve been having one of those months where you just need a pick me up, and Boomerang is the ultimate pick me up (at least it’s mine). I think I’ve mentioned before how The Summer Set never fail to make me happy if I’m in a bad mood, and Boomerang is one of those songs that instantly puts a smile on my face. I’ve needed a lot of pick me ups recently so this song has basically been on repeat!

 

3. Give – You Me at Six

I don’t even know what to say about this song. I’ve had such a crappy month and this song has been there. If I need to sing or cry it has been my go-to.

 

4. Ground Control – All Time Low (ft. Tegan and Sara)

I don’t know what it is about this song, but it just lifts me up and gives me hope. It’s so different to songs like Boomerang that do a similar thing, but I can’t explain it. The fact that it’s an All Time Low song probably has something to do with it.

 

5. If It Means a Lot to You – A Day to Remember

Now this one will definitely not be everyone’s cup of tea, because A Day to Remember are more on the heavy side of the rock spectrum, but I love them. I’ve recently been going through a breakup and this song is basically the reason why (we didn’t break up over the song, the lyrics just describe the situation perfectly). You’d think it’d be difficult to listen to, but I don’t know, it just feels comforting to sing along so it’s been on quite a lot recently.

 

But that’s it for this month! As always let me know what you’ve been listening to and I’ll see you in my next post!

Rachael


 

Leave a Reply

