Books

My Booktube-A-Thon 2017 TBR

Usually when the Booktube-A-Thon comes around, I’m away on holiday or busy with no time to sit and read, so I haven’t been able to participate. Things are different this year, so I thought I’d actually try and participate this year, which has me really excited.

If you don’t know what the Booktube-A-Thon is (then that first paragraph probably made no sense whatsoever!), it is an anuual readathon hosted by Ariel Bissett that runs for a week, and the goal is to try read seven books in a week. Each year different challenges are set to try and get people reading different books and it results in some very colourful TBR piles being put together (which is honestly half the fun of it). There are also a ton of giveaways and fun challenges hosted by various booktubers throughout the week for you to get involved in. The best part of it all is despite its name, you don’t have to be a booktuber to participate – if you’re a reader then, by all means, join in! It sounds like it’ll be a lot of fun.

This year the Booktube-A-Thon is running from 24th July – 30th July, which is NEXT WEEK, and seven reading challenges have been set for the week.

Reading Challenges 2017:

– Read a book with a person on the cover.

– Read a hyped book.

– Finish a book in one day.

– Read about a character that is very different from you.

– Finish a book completely outdoors.

– Read a book you bought because of the cover.

– Read seven books.

Now you don’t have to set your TBR based on these challenges, you could read any seven books you felt like, but it sounded like fun, so for my Booktube-A-Thon TBR I picked one book to fit each of these challenges.

booktubeathon tbr

 

1. Read a book with a person on the cover – Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Image result for throne of glass

Throne of Glass was the first book I saw when I looked at my bookshelf, so I picked it up. I’ve only ever read this book, which is the first in the series, so I’ve been planning to read the rest of the series this summer before Tower of Dawn comes out in September. This gives me the perfect opportunity to actually start reading the books, since I’ve spent the last month reading pretty much everything else.

 

2. Read a hyped book – Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Image result for cinder marissa meyer

I actually struggled to think of a book for this category, mostly because whenever I buy a hyped book, I’ll usually read it right away, so trying to find one I hadn’t read before was a challenge in itself. The Lunar Chronicles has so much hype surrounding it (less so now the series has finished but still it’s a popular series), making Cinder the perfect read. But if I love it and want more, I’m screwed. I only own the first book in this series and I’m on a serious book buying ban at the moment. Why do I do these things to myself?

 

3. Finish a book in one day – Forgotten by Cat Patrick

Image result for forgotten cat patrick

For this challenge I decided to choose a shorter read which can be more easily accomplished, especially since the rest of my TBR has some decent sized books that could potentially cause more book hangovers (I’ve had so many of those recently). Forgotten is one of my favourite contemporaries too, so it’ll be nice to read something familliar this week while discovering all these new books.

 

4. Read about a character who is very different to you – Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray

Image result for defy the stars

Defy the Stars follows two characters (from what I know of): Noemi and Abel. Noemi is a soldier from another planet, and Abel is a robot warrior. I think that may just qualify as different from me. It’s also a book I’m very excited for, since I love Claudia Gray’s Firebird trilogy.

 

5. Finish a book completely outdoors – Orbiting Jupiter by Gary D. Schmidt

Orbiting Jupiter

For this challenge I decided to go with another short read, not because I don’t want to read a long book outside (I’d love to), but because British Summertime usually doesn’t involve much sunshine so even if I wanted to read outside, the weather just wouldn’t permit it. I figured that there’s a good chance the weather won’t be very good next week (I haven’t actually checked the forecast), so it’d be easier to get a shorter book read in those fleeting moments of sunshine, which is why I picked Orbiting Jupiter. Though knowing my luck it’ll be great weather all week. We’ll just have to see!

 

6. Read a book you bought because of the cover – Ink by Alice Broadway

Image result for ink alice broadway

Imagine this photo being completely metallic and you’ll understand why Ink was a definite cover buy for me. It’s mesmerising! I think I stood staring at it in the bookshop for a good 10 minutes before I picked it up and bought it, and to this day I don’t actually know what it is about!

 

7. Read seven books – Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie

Image result for peter pan book
Click here to buy this beautiful edition!

This is the main challenge of the Booktube-A-Thon, so I needed to find a book that would round out my TBR nicely. I wanted a quick, fun read to finish the week with before I ended up back in the emotional heartbreak of the Throne of Glass series, which led me to Peter Pan. I also haven’t read this book in such a long time, so it’ll be nice to read it once again!

 

That’s my TBR for the Booktube-A-Thon! I’ve no idea whether I’ll manage to read all seven in a week, but I’ll give it a go! Let me know if you’re planning to participate in this year’s Booktube-A-Thon and tell me what’s on your TBR. I’ll see you in my next post!

– Rachael

2 thoughts on “My Booktube-A-Thon 2017 TBR

Leave a Reply

