Thoughts & Rambles

True Honesty, Not Sugar Coated

Bare with me for a little while because I’m going to have a bit of a rant.

Publishers and authors send out review copies of their books to bloggers to promote their books and get some feedback on the book itself before publication. It’s an important process. It’s also really exciting, because a lot of big authors do this and getting the chance to read and review the story before anyone else is amazing. I love receiving ARCs from authors and publishers (if fact I have a pile of them that I am really behind on). I love getting the chance to communicate with authors and find new books and authors I might not have realised before even existed. But as a blogger, I make a deal that in order to receive this book, I agree to writing an honest review. Key word here is ‘honest’.

This is where my problem lies. Now this is definitely not the case for all of them, but book publishers and authors ask for an honest review and I feel like some of them only want to see a glowing review telling everyone how incredible this publication is, so they will do everything in their power to turn a bad review into an amazing one. I stress this is only some people, but it’s an issue that I’ve recently had to deal with and it’s kind of bothered me. Hence why I’m writing this post.

I was approached by an author to read and review a book that was due to be released this summer. The concept was intriguing so I agreed to read and send my honest feedback. In the information I received, I was asked to wait until release day to post my review but I could add it to Goodreads as I was reading it. It’s a pretty standard thing to be asked so I respect that. So I read this book, and it was really good book – except for the ending. It really fell flat for me and brought my opinion of the book as a whole down. So I said as much. I said I really enjoyed the book but was let down by the ending. That’s all I said since I’d agreed to post my review when the book came out. 

I didn’t see anything wrong with my comment. I still don’t. Though I received a message from the author asking me to alter my review which just annoyed me. It’s not like I slammed the book and tore it apart; I just said I was disappointed. But being asked to change my review kind of made it seem like my opinions on it were redundant because they were not what was “ideal”. Also the respect I had for that author has dwindled since.

I am happy to receive review copies of books. I really enjoy it, but if I don’t like the book, I will say so. I’m not going to slate it, but I won’t sugarcoat it and say it was amazing when I don’t believe it was. I have to be honest with you guys, because if not…then what’s the point of doing all this? It just bugs me that some people don’t like that. 

Anyway, rant over. Let me know your thoughts and if you’ve ever experienced anything like this before! I will see you in my next (hopefully happier) post.

Rachael

Leave a Reply

